Friday, April 11, 2014

Ain Shams University

Ain Shams University was established in 1950 under the name of Ibrahim Pasha University. It was the third university in Egypt after Fouad I University and Farouk I University (Cairo and Alexandria Universities). After the 1952 revolution, it was thought that it would be more appropriate to assign the university a name, Heliopolis “the city of the sun” that would be a permanent reminder of the oldest Egyptian University in history that was very famous in science and astronomy in the pharaonic era. In November 1952, the historical Zaafran palace was chosen to be the university headquarters. The palace was surrounded by 100 acres of green area. It was established during the period of Ismail Pasha. The Egyptian–English treaty was signed there in 1936. In 1954, at the recommendation of the university council, a law was passed changing the name to the “University of Ain Shams”. During the last few years, the palace was renovated to maintain its original architectural as well as artistic features. Throughout its history, the university has always been in continuous development. Its graduates are highly distinguished in the employment market. The university includes the following faculties and institutes: Faculty of Arts, Faculty of Law, Faculty of Commerce, Faculty of Science, Faculty of Engineering, Faculty of Medicine, Faculty of Agriculture, Faculty of Education, Faculty of Women for Arts, Science and Education, Faculty of Languages (Al–Alsun), Faculty of Dentistry, Faculty of Pharmacy, Faculty of Computer Science and Information, Faculty of Nursing, Institute of Environmental Studies and Research and Institute of Postgraduate Childhood Studies.



Post a Comment

Twitter Delicious Facebook Digg Stumbleupon Favorites More

Design by Free WordPress Themes | Bloggerized by Lasantha - Premium Blogger Themes | Bluehost Review